Conference of Baltic University Rectors (CBUR)

Year of Foundation The Conference of Baltic University Rectors was founded in Gdansk in 1990.
Membership Membership in CBUR is open to all univerisites and equivalent institutions with full academic rights in the Baltic Sea area. CBUR currently has 82 full members and six universities with the status of affiliated members.
President Professor Jaak Aaviksoo, Rector, University of Tartu, Estonia
Governance The decision -making body of CBUR is the Assembly, in which every member university is represented, and which passes its resolutions by a simple majority of the votes of members present. Amendments to the Constitution require a two thirds majority.
Aims CBUR aims at promoting inter-university cooperation in the Baltic Sea area, and to further its communities. The association intends to engage in joint research, to share didactic experience, and to create and develop mutual contacts of academic staff and students of its member universities.
Projects and Initiatives CBUR has submitted a proposal for the establishment and support of a five-year student exchange programme between baltic Sea universities to the Council of Baltic Sea States.
Regular Events CBUR holds one conference every second year.
Publications Universities in the Age of Information Technology.
Proceedings of the 7th Conference of Baltic University Rectors at Roskilde University, 16-19 June 1999