Institute of Computer Science | Universitas Tartuensis
AAA

Institute of Computer Science

J. Liivi 2, 50409, Tartu, Eesti
Phone:
(+372) 737 5445
E-mail:
Web: www.cs.ut.ee
Jaak Vilo Head of Institute, Academician PhD (Computer Science) 737 5483
J. Liivi 2-215
jaak.vilo [ät] ut.ee
Varmo Vene Vice Director PhD (Computer Science) 737 5870
516 0772 (5870)
J. Liivi 2-211
varmo.vene [ät] ut.ee
Piret Orav Administrative Manager 737 6434
(6434)
J.Liivi 2-219
piret.orav [ät] ut.ee

chair of Data Science

Jaak Vilo Head of Chair, Professor of Bioinformatics PhD (Computer Science) 737 5483
jaak.vilo [ät] ut.ee
Raul Vicente Zafra Professor of Data Science PhD (Physics) raul.vicente.zafra [ät] ut.ee
Meelis Kull Associate Professor in Data Mining PhD (Computer Science) 737 5434
meelis.kull [ät] ut.ee
Mari-Liis Allikivi Assistant in Informatics 0.5 p MSc (Computer Science) 737 6437
mari-liis.allikivi [ät] ut.ee
Dmytro Fishman Assistant of Data Science 0.6 p, Junior Research Fellow in Bioinformatics 0.4 p MSc (Software Engineering) 737 6437
dmytro.fishman [ät] ut.ee
Sven Laur Senior Research Fellow in Privacy-Preserving Data Mining PhD 737 5434
sven.laur [ät] ut.ee
Leopold Parts Senior Research Fellow in Bioinformatics 0.5 p PhD (Molecular Biology) leopold.parts [ät] ut.ee
Hedi Peterson Senior Research Fellow of Bioinformatics 0.8 p PhD (Bioinformatics) 737 6437
hedi.peterson [ät] ut.ee
Priit Adler Research Fellow of Bioinformatics PhD (Bioinformatics) 737 6437
priit.adler [ät] ut.ee
Kaur Alasoo Research Fellow of Bioinformatics PhD kaur.alasoo [ät] ut.ee
Jaan Aru Research Fellow in Computational Neuroscience 0.4 p PhD (Psychology) jaan.aru [ät] ut.ee
Ilja Kuzovkin Junior Research Fellow in Computational Neuroscience 0.5 p MSc (Computer Science) ilja.kuzovkin [ät] ut.ee
Vijayachitra Modhukur Junior Research Fellow in Bioinformatics MSc (Bioinformatics) 737 6137
vijayachitra.modhukur [ät] ut.ee
Elena Sügis Junior Research Fellow in Bioinformatics 0.9 p MSc (Telecommunications) 737 6437
elena.sugis [ät] ut.ee
Ahto Salumets Research Project Specialist 0.3 p 737 6437
ahto.salumets [ät] ut.ee
Raimond-Hendrik Tunnel Specialist in Computer Graphics MSc (Computer Science) raimond.tunnel [ät] ut.ee
Erik Jaaniso Programmer erik.jaaniso [ät] ut.ee
Liis Kolberg Programmer 0.6 p 737 6437
liis.kolberg [ät] ut.ee
Ivan Kuzmin Programmer ivan.kuzmin [ät] ut.ee
Daniel Majoral Lopez Scientific Programmer mag daniel.majoral.lopez [ät] ut.ee
Tauno Metsalu Programmer 0.1 p 737 6137
tauno.metsalu [ät] ut.ee
Sulev Reisberg Programmer 0.5 p MSc sulev.reisberg [ät] ut.ee
Dage Särg Programmer MA dage.sarg [ät] ut.ee
Paul Tammo Programmer 737 6424
paul.tammo [ät] ut.ee
Aleksandr Tkatšenko Programmer MSc (Computer Science) aleksandr.tkatsenko [ät] ut.ee
Tambet Arak Programmer 0.1 p tambet.arak [ät] ut.ee
Balaji Rajashekar Research Fellow of Bioinformatics (employment contract suspended) PhD (Microbial Ecology)
Anna Ufliand Junior Research Fellow in Bioinformatics (employment contract suspended) 0.5 p

chair of Programming Languages and Systems

Varmo Vene Head of Chair, Professor of Programming Languages Semantics PhD (Computer Science) 737 5870
516 0772 (5870)
varmo.vene [ät] ut.ee
Helle Hein Associate Professor in Software Systems PhD (Mathematics) 737 5475
helle.hein [ät] ut.ee
Piret Luik Associate Professorin Didactics of Informatics PhD (Pedagogy) 737 5464
piret.luik [ät] ut.ee
Härmel Nestra Associate Professor in Programming Languages PhD (Computer Science) 737 5428
harmel.nestra [ät] ut.ee
Rein Prank Associate Professor in Theoretical Informatics 0.8 p cand (Physics-Mathematics) 737 5484
rein.prank [ät] ut.ee
Marina Lepp Lecturer in Informatics PhD (Computer Science) 737 5431
marina.lepp [ät] ut.ee
Reimo Palm Lecturer in Theoretical Informatics PhD (Computer Science) 737 5482
reimo.palm [ät] ut.ee
Ahti Peder Lecturer in Software Systems PhD (Computer Science) 737 5482
ahti.peder [ät] ut.ee
Reelika Suviste Lecturer in Informatics Didactics PhD (Educational Science) 737 6430
reelika.suviste [ät] ut.ee
Tõnu Tamme Lecturer in Theoretical Informatics MSc (Computer Science) 737 5497
tonu.tamme [ät] ut.ee
Eno Tõnisson Lecturer in Informatics MSc (Mathematics) 737 5431
eno.tonisson [ät] ut.ee
Anne Villems Lecturer in Software Systems MSc (Computer Science) 737 5450
anne.villems [ät] ut.ee
Vambola Leping Visiting Lecturer MSc (Computer Science) 737 5497
vambola.leping [ät] ut.ee
Aivar Annamaa Assistant in Informatics 737 5428
aivar.annamaa [ät] ut.ee
Taavi Duvin Assistant in Robotics 0.5 p MA (Teacher of Computer Studies) taavi.duvin [ät] ut.ee
Lidia Feklistova Assistant in Informatics MSc (Teacher of Computer Studies) 737 5448
lidia.feklistova [ät] ut.ee
Ljubov Jaanuska Assistant in informatics MSc (Teacher of Computer Studies) 737 5475
ljubov.jaanuska [ät] ut.ee
Jaan Janno Assistant in Informatics MSc (Software Engineering) jaan.janno [ät] ut.ee
Mirjam Paales Assistant in Informatics MA (Teacher of Computer Studies) 737 6430
mirjam.paales [ät] ut.ee
Tauno Palts Assistant in Didactics of Informatics 737 6429
tauno.palts [ät] ut.ee
Lauri Rätsep Assistant in informatics 0.5 p MSc (Computer Science) 737 5428
lauri.ratsep [ät] ut.ee
Merilin Säde Assistant of Informatics 0.5 p MA 737 6430
merilin.sade [ät] ut.ee
Kalmer Apinis Research Fellow in Programming Languages PhD 737 5443
kalmer.apinis [ät] ut.ee
Vesal Vojdani Research Fellow of Programming Languages PhD 747 5443
vesal.vojdani [ät] ut.ee
Heilo Altin Robotics Specialist 0.5 p MSc (Information Technology) heilo.altin [ät] ut.ee

chair of Security and Theoretical Computer Science

Dominique Unruh Head of Chair, Professor of Information Security PhD 737 5871
dominique.unruh [ät] ut.ee
Vitaly Skachek Associate Professor in Theoretical Informatics PhD 737 6418
vitaly.skachek [ät] ut.ee
Dirk Oliver Jim Theis Associate Professor of Theoretical Computer Science PhD (Mathematics) dirk.theis [ät] ut.ee
Helger Lipmaa Lead Research Fellow in Cryptography PhD (Computer Science) 737 5429
helger.lipmaa [ät] ut.ee
Irina Bocharova Senior Research Fellow in Coding Theory 0.5 p cand irina.bocharova [ät] ut.ee
Eldho Kuppamala Puthenpurayil Thomas Research Fellow in Coding Theory PhD eldho.thomas [ät] ut.ee
Behzad Abdolmaleki Junior Research Fellow in Cryptography 0.7 p MSc behzad.abdolmaleki [ät] ut.ee
Karim Baghery Junior Research Fellow in Cryptography MSc karim.baghery [ät] ut.ee
Toomas Krips Junior Research Fellow in Cryptography 0.5 p MSc (Mathematics) toomas.krips [ät] ut.ee
Janno Siim Junior Research Fellow in Cryptography 0.1 p MSc (Computer Science) janno.siim [ät] ut.ee
Michal Pawel Zajac Junior Research Fellow in Cryptography mag (Mathematics) michal.zajac [ät] ut.ee
Tore Vincent Carstens Research Project Specialist 0.56 p MSc (Mathematics) tore.vincent.carstens [ät] ut.ee

chair of Software Engineering

Marlon Gerardo Dumas Menjivar Professor in Information Systems PhD (Computer Science) 737 5473
marlon.dumas [ät] ut.ee
Dietmar Alfred Paul Kurt Pfahl Professor of Software Engineering PhD 737 5432
dietmar.pfahl [ät] ut.ee
Luciano Garcia Banuelos Associate Professor in Software Engineering PhD (Computer Science) luciano.garcia [ät] ut.ee
Fabrizio Maria Maggi Associate Professor in Information Systems PhD f.m.maggi [ät] ut.ee
Raimundas Matulevicius Associate Professor in Software Systems PhD (Computer Science) 737 5421
raimundas.matulevicius [ät] ut.ee
Fredrik Payman Milani Lecturer of Information Systems PhD (Computer Science) fredrik.payman.milani [ät] ut.ee
Evgenia Trofimova Visiting Lecturer 0.2 p MSc (Information Technology) evgenia.trofimova [ät] ut.ee
Erkki Leego Visiting Lecturer MSc (Computer Science) erkki.leego [ät] ut.ee
Jaanus Jaggo Assistant of Software Engineering 0.5 p MSc (Computer Science) jaanus.jaggo [ät] ut.ee
Margus Luik Assistant of Software Engineering 0.5 p MSc (Computer Science) margus.luik [ät] ut.ee
Peep Küngas Senior Research Fellow of Software Engineering 0.6 p PhD (Information Technology) peep.kungas [ät] ut.ee
Rajesh Sharma Senior Research Fellow in Information Systems PhD rajesh.sharma [ät] ut.ee
Siim Karus Research Fellow of Software Engeneering PhD (Computer Science) siim.karus [ät] ut.ee
Anna Leontjeva Research Fellow of Information Systems PhD (Computer Science) anna.leontjeva [ät] ut.ee
Mario Ezequiel Scott Research Fellow in Software Engineering PhD ezequiel.scott [ät] ut.ee
Jaan Übi Research Fellow of Information Systems PhD jaan.ubi [ät] ut.ee
Hina Anwar Junior Research Fellow of Software Engineering 0.9 p MSc hina.anwar [ät] ut.ee
Andrey Sergeev Junior Research Fellow of Software Engineering 0.5 p MSc 737 5421
andrey.sergeev [ät] ut.ee
Jake Tom - Junior Research Fellow In Information Systems 0.5 p MSc (Software Engineering) jake.tom [ät] ut.ee
Artem Mateush Data Analyst artem.mateush [ät] ut.ee

chair of Distributed Systems

Eero Vainikko Head of Chair, Professor of Distributed Systems PhD (Information Technology) 737 5454
eero.vainikko [ät] ut.ee
Satish Narayana Srirama Associate Professor in Distributed Systems PhD 737 6422
satish.srirama [ät] ut.ee
Amnir Hadachi Lecturer of Distributed Systems PhD (Computer Science) 737 6427
amnir.hadachi [ät] ut.ee
Pelle Jakovits Lecturer of Distributed Systems PhD (Computer Science) 737 6422
pelle.jakovitsh [ät] ut.ee
Meelis Roos Lecturer of Computer Security 0.5 p MSc (Computer Science) meelis.roos [ät] ut.ee
Kristjan Krips Assistant of Informatics 0.7 p MSc (Computer Science) 737 6429
kristjan.krips [ät] ut.ee
Toomas Krips Assistant in Informatics 0.5 p MSc (Mathematics) toomas.krips [ät] ut.ee
Artjom Lind Assistant of Distributed Systems 0.3 p, Research Project Specialist 0.7 p MSc (Information Technology) 737 6422
artjom.lind [ät] ut.ee
Chii Chang Research Fellow in Mobile and Cloud Computing PhD chii.chang [ät] ut.ee
Benson Muite Research Fellow of Distributed Systems PhD (Mathematics) benson.muite [ät] ut.ee
Siim-Toomas Marran Programmer 0.4 p siim-toomas.marran [ät] ut.ee

chair of Natural Language Processing

J. Liivi 2-303
Phone: (+372) 737 5430

Mark Fišel Head of Chair, Associate Professor in Natural Language Processing PhD (Computer Science) 737 5430
mark.fisel [ät] ut.ee
Päivi Kristiina Jokinen Visiting Professor 0.5 p PhD (Computational Linguistics) 737 5430
kristiina.jokinen [ät] ut.ee
Tiit Roosmaa Visiting Associate Professor cand (Engineering) tiit.roosmaa [ät] ut.ee
Heili Orav Lecturer in Language Technology 0.5 p PhD (General linguistics) 737 6143
heili.orav [ät] ut.ee
Neeme Kahusk Lecturer in Language Technology MSc (Psychology) neeme.kahusk [ät] ut.ee
Sven Aller Assistant in Informatics MSc (Computer Science) sven.aller [ät] ut.ee
Krista Liin Assistant in Language Technology 0.5 p, Scientific Programmer 0.5 p MSc (Computer Science) 737 6433
krista.liin [ät] ut.ee
Heiki-Jaan Kaalep Senior Research Fellow in Language Technology PhD (General linguistics) 737 5942
heiki-jaan.kaalep [ät] ut.ee
Kadri Muischnek Senior Research Fellow in Language Technology 0.75 p PhD (Estonian Language) kadri.muischnek [ät] ut.ee
Eduard Barbu Research Fellow in Natural Language Processing eduard.barbu [ät] ut.ee
Kaili Müürisep Research Fellow in Language Technology PhD (Computer Science) 737 5432
kaili.muurisep [ät] ut.ee
Kairit Sirts Research Fellow in Language Technology PhD (Computer Science) kairit.sirts [ät] ut.ee
Kadri Vider Research Fellow in Language Technology MA (General linguistics) 737 6433
kadri.vider [ät] ut.ee
Margus Treumuth Analyst of Language Resources 0.1 p PhD (Computer Science) 737 6433
margus.treumuth [ät] ut.ee
Mare Koit Specialist of Language Technology 0.5 p cand (Physics-Mathematics) 737 5464
mare.koit [ät] ut.ee
Erkki Luuk Specialist of Language Technology PhD (General linguistics) 737 6143
erkki.luuk [ät] ut.ee
Siim Orasmaa Programmer 0.75 p siim.orasmaa [ät] ut.ee
Kristiina Vaik Programmer MA (Computational Linguistics) kristiina.vaik [ät] ut.ee
Tarmo Vaino Scientific Programmer tarmo.vaino [ät] ut.ee
Kadri Vare Coordinator for the National Programme for Estonian Language Technology MA (General linguistics) 737 6143
kadri.vare [ät] ut.ee
Katrin Tsepelina Programmer katrin.tsepelina [ät] ut.ee

High Performance Computing Center

J. Liivi 2 - 015, 50409, Tartu, Eesti

Ivar Koppel Head of Centre, Head of IT development PhD (Physical and Analytical Chemistry) ivar.koppel [ät] ut.ee
Ilja Livenson Senior Application Developer 0.5 p MSc (Computer Science) ilja.livenson [ät] ut.ee
Tõnu Raitviir Senior Application Developer 0.25 p MSc (Environmental Technology) tonu.raitviir [ät] ut.ee
Rutt Lindström IT Developer 0.5 p rutt.lindstrom [ät] ut.ee
Hannes Tamme System Administrator MSc (Computer Engineering) hannes.tamme [ät] ut.ee
Sander Kuusemets Information Technology Specialist 737 5694
59011821 (5694)
sander.kuusemets [ät] ut.ee
Iris Merilo System Administrator 0.6 p iris.merilo [ät] ut.ee
Ott Eric Oopkaup System Administration ott.oopkaup [ät] ut.ee

Administration

Piret Orav Head 737 6434
(6434)
piret.orav [ät] ut.ee
Maria Gaiduk Senior Specialist in e-courses 0.5 p, Senior Specialist 0.5 p 737 6435
maria.gaiduk [ät] ut.ee
Anne Jääger Partner Relations Manager MBA 737 6415
anne.jaager [ät] ut.ee
Tambet Matiisen Coordinator 0.3 p MSc (Computer Science) tambet.matiisen [ät] ut.ee
Natali Belinska Specialist MA (German Language and Literature) 737 5861
natali.belinska [ät] ut.ee
Ülle Holm Specialist for Clerical Procedures 737 5445
ulle.holm [ät] ut.ee
Martin Kaljula Research Specialist 737 5425
martin.kaljula [ät] ut.ee
Heili Kase Specialist for Clerical Procedures 737 6436
heili.kase [ät] ut.ee
Sille-Liis Männik marketing and Communication Specialist 0.5 p 737 6415
sille-liis.mannik [ät] ut.ee
Liis Tamm Academic Affairs Specialist 737 6432
liis.tamm [ät] ut.ee
Eva Pruusapuu Projects Coordinator 737 5425
eva.pruusapuu [ät] ut.ee
Anneli Vainumäe Projects Coordinator 737 6436
anneli.vainumae [ät] ut.ee
Ahti Saar Educational Technologist MSc (Computer Engineering) 737 6435
508 7782 (6435)
ahti.saar [ät] ut.ee
Liivi Luik Specialist of Academic Affairs 737 5862
liivi.luik [ät] ut.ee
Ott Sellis Information Technology Specialist 0.5 p 737 6435
ott.sellis [ät] ut.ee
Ako Tõnissoo Information Technology Specialist 0.5 p 737 6435
ako.tonissoo [ät] ut.ee
Reimo Luik Programmer 0.5 p reimo.luik [ät] ut.ee
Helju Ohno Technician 737 5873
helju.ohno [ät] ut.ee
Jaan Ehasalu Senior Administrator 737 5462
jaan.ehasalu [ät] ut.ee
Mattias Jõesaar Specialist MA (International Relations) 737 6112
mattias.joesaar [ät] ut.ee
Merlin Pastak Educational Technologist (employment contract suspended) 0.5 p MA (Teacher of Mathematics)